Activity report of the Belgian Association of Geomorphologists (2017-2018)

presented by Jan Nyssen, BAG President, during the administrative session, held on the occasion of the annual BAG excursion (Dijle basin, 8 June 2018) and approved by the assembly.

1 Reminder of our administrative structure

BAG is the Belgian chapter of the IAG. Jan Nyssen (UGent) is president (2017 to 2021). Geoffrey Houbrechts (ULiège) is vice-president (2017-2021). Olivier Dewitte (RMCA) is BAG secretary and treasurer.

2 BAG activities in 2017-2018

- Last year's BAG excursion was organised by Alain Demoulin (ULiège) and Gilles Rixhon (Köln) who led us in the Ourthe-Amblève basin, from Colonster up to the Trô Marêt river capture, revisiting Quaternary terraces and river profiles and updating their implications for our understanding of the incision history of the Ardennes drainage system.

- November 6-11, 2017: 9th International Conference on Geomorphology, New Delhi, India. Morgan De Dapper represented the BAG.

- April 8-12, 2018. EGU general assembly, including 12 sessions on Geomorphology. ~15 BAG participants (Elise Monsieurs (RMCA-ULg); Benoît Smets (RMCA); Olivier Dewitte (RMCA); Antoine Dille (RMCA –VUB); Jean-Claude Maki Mateso (UCL – RMCA); Fils Makanzu (RMCA); Arthur Depicker (KUL); Jente Broeckx (KUL); Matthias Vanmaercke (ULg); Gert Verstraeten (KUL); Benjamin Campforts (KUL); Veerle Vanacker (UCL); Laura Lamair (ULg))

- On May 16-20, 2018, the Romanian Association of Geomorphologists organised the 19th Joint Geomorphological Meeting (Italy-Romania-France-Belgium-Greece). Olivier Dewitte took part in the conference and represented BAG. The conference attracted 70 participants. Two days of field trip were organized in the Vrancea seismic region (Sub-Carpathian Mountains).

- Prizes and awards

- Matthias Vanmaercke (ULg) has been awarded the EGU 2018 Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award for the Soil System Sciences division
- Frank Pattyn (ULB) has been awarded the EGU 2018 Louis Agassiz Medal of the Cryospheric Sciences Division
- Antoine Dille (RMCA VUB): Yola Verhasselt Prize for Tropical Geography awarded by the Royal Academy for Overseas Sciences of Belgium for his PhD research on "Characterizing the spatio-temporal dynamics of landslides in urban sprawling contexts: focus on Bukavu (DR Congo)".

3 Springer book on "Landscapes and landforms in Belgium and Luxembourg"

- 42 printed copies sold (status December 2017).
- No clear information about number of e-books sold.
- More than 13 000 chapter downloads (status May 2018).

4 Upcoming activities

- EGU: 7-12 April 2019
- The 8th International Symposium on Gully Erosion will be held in Townsville, Australia on 21-27 July 2019. Townsville is Australia's largest tropical city and adjacent to the Great Barrier Reef.
- 2019 Regional Conference of the IAG will be held in Greece (Athens), first half of September 2019
- 2020 IAG Regional Conference in Iran (Mashhad)
- 2021 International IAG Conference in Portugal (Coimbra)

5 BAG excursion 2018

Thank you to Gert Verstraeten, Nils Broothaerts and Katrien Wouters (KULeuven) for organising this year's BAG excursion in the Dijle valley. During this field trip, we visited several places along the River Dijle (south and north of Leuven) to discuss the evolution in river channel morphology and the floodplain over timescales ranging from a few decades to millennia. In particular, we focussed on the relative role of climatic and anthropogenic driving forces on channel and floodplain development. Topics include the changes in channel planform and channel morphometry, changes in floodplain aggradation and floodplain geoecology, and river management. The study area largely corresponds to what has been described in chapter 16 of the recently published book on Landscapes and Landforms of Belgium and Luxembourg. We were 30 participants.



In the confluence area of Dijle and Demer

6 The 2019 BAG excursion

In view of the usual alternation for the organisation of our annual field trip day, the 2019 excursion will be organised by our Walloon colleagues: "Unknown geomorphic phenomena in the Geopark Famenne Ardenne" (recently recognized by UNESCO), guided by Vincent Hallet (UNamur). Friday 7 June 2019.

7 Administrative news

There are 9 institutions, among which the annual BAG contribution to the IAG (1000 \in) is shared. The 2016 and 2017 invoices were delayed because of late requesting by the BAG treasurer. We had then to do a rapid last-minute payment to IAG (before the 9th International Conference) and UGent could do this rapid payment. We have now sent out corresponding invoices to all partner institutions. The 2018 contributions will again be handled by Olivier Dewitte (RMCA) in the usual way.

Good to know, this is	s the administrative structure of IAG (2017-2021)
President:	Prof. Mauro SOLDATI (Italy)
Vice-President:	Dr. Susan CONWAY (UK) – Communication, co-operation, outreach
Vice-President:	Prof. Sunil Kumar DE (India) – Working Groups
Vice-President:	Prof. Francisco GUTIERREZ (Spain) – National Scientific Members
Secretary General:	Dr. Mihai MICU (Romania)
Treasurer:	Prof. Emmanuel REYNARD (Switzerland), replacing our colleague
Morgan De Dapper (UGent) who was treasurer of the IAG (2013-2017).

Publications Officer: Prof. Kosmas PAVLOPOULOS (Greece)