# **Tanzania Commission for Universities**



List of Approved University Institutions in Tanzania as of 31st January, 2020

# Tanzania Commission for Universities List of Approved University Institutions in Tanzania as of 31st January, 2020

#### 1: FULLY FLEDGED UNIVERSITIES

#### **1A: Public Universities**

SN	Name of the University	Approved Acronym	Head Office	Current Status
1.	University of Dar es Salaam	UDSM	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered
2.	Sokoine University of Agriculture	SUA	Morogoro	Accredited and Chartered
3.	Open University of Tanzania	OUT	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered
4.	Ardhi University	ARU	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered
5.	State University of Zanzibar	SUZA	Zanzibar	Accredited
6.	Mzumbe University	MU	Morogoro	Accredited and Chartered
7.	Muhimbili University of Health & Allied Sciences	MUHAS	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered
8.	Nelson Mandela African Institute of Science and Technology	NMAIST	Arusha	Accredited and Chartered
9.	University of Dodoma	UDOM	Dodoma	Accredited and Chartered
10.	Mbeya University of Science and Technology	MUST	Mbeya	Accredited and Chartered
11.	Moshi Cooperative University	MoCU	Moshi	Accredited and Chartered
12.	Mwalimu Julius K. Nyerere University of Agriculture and Technology	MJNUAT	Musoma	Provisional Licence <sup>1</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Not permitted to admit students

#### **1B: Private Universities**

SN	Name of the University	Approved Acronym	Head Office	Current Status	
1.	Hubert Kairuki Memorial University	НКМИ	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered	
2.	Tumaini University Makumira	TUMA	Arusha	Accredited and Chartered	
3.	St. Augustine University of Tanzania	SAUT	Mwanza	Accredited and Chartered	
4.	Zanzibar University	ZU	Zanzibar	Accredited and Chartered	
5.	University of Arusha	UoA	Arusha	Accredited and Chartered	
6.	Teofilo Kisanji University	TEKU	Mbeya	Accredited and Chartered	
7.	Muslim University of Morogoro	MUM	Morogoro	Accredited and Chartered	
8.	St. John's University of Tanzania	SJUT	Dodoma	CFR and Chartered	
9.	Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences	CUHAS	Mwanza	Accredited	
10.	St. Joseph University in Tanzania	SJUIT	Dar es Salaam	Accredited	
11.	United African University of Tanzania	UAUT	Dar es Salaam	Certificate of Full Registration (CFR)	
12.	Sebastian Kolowa Memorial University	SEKOMU	Tanga	Certificate of Full Registration (CFR)	
13.	University of Iringa	UoI	Iringa	Accredited	
14.	AbdulRahman Al-Sumait University	SUMAIT	Zanzibar	Accredited	
15.	Mwenge Catholic University	MWECAU	Moshi	Certificate of Full Registration (CFR)	
16.	Ruaha Catholic University	RUCU	Iringa	Accredited	
17.	Aga Khan University	AKU	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered	
18.	Kampala International University in Tanzania	KIUT	Dar es Salaam	Certificate of Full Registration (CFR)	

#### 2: UNIVERSITY COLLEGES

## **2A: Public University Colleges**

SN	Name of the Institution	Approved Acronym	Affiliation	Head Office	Current Status
1.	Mkwawa University College of Education	MUCE	University College under UDSM	Iringa	Accredited and Chartered
2.	Dar es Salaam University College of Education	DUCE	University College under UDSM	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered
3.	Mbeya University College of Health and Allied Sciences	MUCHAS	Campus College under UDSM	Mbeya	Accredited
4.	Mbeya University of Science and Technology – Rukwa Campus College	MUST-RC	Campus College under MUST	Rukwa	Accredited

## **2B: Private University Colleges**

SN	Name of the Institution	Approved Acronym	Affiliation	Head Office	Current Status
1.	Kilimanjaro Christian Medical College	KCMUCo	University College under TUMA	Moshi	Certificate of Full Registration (CFR) and chartered
2.	Tumaini University Makumira, Dar es Salaam College	TUDARCo	University College under TUMA	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and chartered
3.	Stefano Moshi Memorial University College	SMMUCo	University College under TUMA	Moshi	Certificate of Full Registration (CFR)and Chartered
4.	Archbishop Mihayo University College of Tabora	AMUCTA	University College under SAUT	Tabora	Certificate of Full Registration (CFR)
5.	St. Francis University College of Health and Allied Sciences	SFUCHAS	University College under SAUT	Morogoro	Certificate of Full Registration (CFR)
6.	Jordan University College	JUCo	University College under SAUT	Morogoro	Accredited

SN	Name of the Institution	Approved Acronym	Affiliation	Head Office	Current Status
7.	Stella Maris Mtwara University College	STeMMUCO	University College under SAUT	Mtwara	Certificate of Full Registration (CFR)
8.	Marian University College	MARUCo	University College under SAUT	Bagamoyo	Accredited
9.	St. Joseph University College of Health and Allied Sciences	SJUCHAS	University College under SJUIT	Dar es Salaam	Certificate of Full Registration (CFR)

## 3: UNIVERSITY CAMPUSES, CENTRES AND INSTITUTES

# 3A: Public University Campuses, Centres and Institutes

SN	Name of the Institution	Approved Acronym	Affiliation	Head Office	Current Status
1.	Institute of Marine Sciences	IMS	University institute under UDSM	Zanzibar	As per status of the Mother University
2.	Mzumbe University Dar es Salaam Campus	Pending	University Campus under MU	Dar es Salaam	As per status of the Mother University
3.	Mzumbe University Mbeya Campus	Pending	University Campus under MU	Mbeya	As per status of the Mother University

# **3B: Private University Campuses, Centres and Institutes**

SN	Name of the Institution	Approved Acronym	Affiliation	Head Office	Current Status
1.	St. Augustine University of Tanzania, Dar es Salaam Centre	Pending	University Centre under SAUT	Dar es Salaam	As per status of the Mother University
2.	Stefano Moshi Memorial University College, Mwika Centre	Pending	University Centre under SMMUCo	Moshi	As per status of the Mother University
3.	St. Augustine University of Tanzania, Arusha Centre	Pending	University Centre under SAUT	Arusha	As per status of the Mother University
4.	St Augustine University of Tanzania, Mbeya Centre	Pending	University Centre under SAUT	Mbeya	As per status of the Mother University