



EMBARGOED UNTIL 10AM, WEDNESDAY 5 MAY

PRESS RELEASE - 5 May 2021

IMAGES CAN BE DOWNLOADED <u>HERE</u> <u>Twitter</u> / <u>Facebook</u> / <u>Instagram</u> / <u>Website</u>

ENCORE AWARD SHORTLIST ANNOUNCED



The Royal Society of Literature (RSL), the voice for the value of literature in the UK, has today unveiled the shortlist for the 2021 Encore Award.

An annual Award of £10,000 celebrating outstanding achievements in second novels, the Encore Award fills a niche in the catalogue of literary prizes. This year's judges are **Sian Cain**, **Nikita Lalwani** and **Paul Muldoon** and the five shortlisted novels are:

Piranesi by Susanna Clarke (Bloomsbury) Should We Fall Behind by Sharon Duggal (Bluemoose Books) The Blind Light by Stuart Evers (Picador) The First Woman by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (One World) The Wild Laughter by Caoilinn Hughes (One World) First presented in 1990, the RSL has been administering the Award since 2016.

The judges commented: 'This year's shortlist is bursting with books that are to be lauded for their ambition - transporting us to other worlds with a mixture of mischief and panache, protest and compassion. We came away enriched from each novel and with much to discuss - these are books teeming with ideas and full of memorable characters.'

Previous recipients of the Award have included **Sally Rooney**, **Ali Smith**, **Anne Enright**, **A. L. Kennedy**,**Colm Tóibín**, and last year's winner **Patrick McGuiness**.

The Encore Award is one of nine annual awards and prizes presented by the RSL which bring the widest possible community of writers and readers together in celebration of the breadth of UK literature. From debut works and unpublished short stories through to the notoriously challenging second novel and outstanding contributions to literature, the RSL's awards and prizes celebrate the value of the written word in all its forms, whilst supporting emerging and established writers at some of the most challenging moments of their careers. The RSL's other annual awards and prizes are: **Sky Arts RSL Writers Awards**, **RSL International Writers** awards, **RSL Ondaajte Prize**, **RSL Christopher Bland Prize**, **RSL Giles St Aubyn Awards for Non-Fiction**, **RSL Literature Matters Awards**, the **V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize** and **The Benson Medal**.

The 2021 Encore Award winner will be announced on Thursday 20 May.

For further information and press enquiries relating to the Encore Award please contact Clair Chamberlain at Bread and Butter PR clair@breadandbutterpr.uk | 07957 272 534

Notes to Editors

The Royal Society of Literature (RSL)

Founded in 1820, the RSL acts as a voice for the value of literature, honouring and supporting emerging and established writers whilst creating a bridge between authors and audiences to engage as many people as possible with the breadth of UK literature. <u>https://rsliterature.org/</u>

The Encore Award is an annual award of £10,000 for best second novel of the year and each of the other four books on the shortlist are awarded £500.

2021 Encore Award Shortlist Author Biographies

Susanna Clarke's debut novel *Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell* was first published in more than 34 countries and was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize and shortlisted for the Whitbread First Novel Award and the *Guardian* First Book Award. It won British Book Awards Newcomer of the Year, the Hugo Award and the World Fantasy Award in 2005. She lives in Derbyshire.

Sharon Duggal grew up in north west Birmingham as part of a large Indian immigrant family. Her debut novel, *The Handsworth Times* was selected for Brighton City Reads 2017. Her short stories are in several anthologies including *The Book of Birmingham* and *Love Bites*.

Stuart Evers' highly acclaimed debut novel, *If This is Home*, was published in 2012 and he has written award-winning short story collections *Ten Stories About Smoking* and *Your Father Sends His Love*. His work has appeared in three editions of the *Best British Short Stories*, as well as *Granta*, the *White Review*, *Prospect* and on Radio 4. Originally from the North West, he lives in London.

Caoilinn Hughes' first novel, *Orchid & the Wasp*, won the Collyer Bristow Prize 2019 and was shortlisted for the Hearst Big Book Awards. *The Wild Laughter* was longlisted for the 2021 Dylan Thomas Prize. She holds a PhD from Victoria University of Wellington and is currently the Oscar Wilde Centre Writer Fellow at Trinity College Dublin.

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi is a Ugandan novelist and short story writer. Her first novel, *Kintu* won the 2013 Kwani? Manuscript Project and was longlisted for the Etisalat Prize 2014. Her short story, 'Let's Tell This Story Properly', was awarded the 2014 Commonwealth Short Story Prize. She is a senior lecturer at Manchester Metropolitan University.

Past Winners

- 2020 Patrick McGuinness Throw Me to the Wolves
- 2019 Sally Rooney Normal People
- 2018* Andrew Michael Hurley *Devil's Day* Lisa McInerney *The Blood Miracles*
- 2017 Ian McGuire *The North Water*
- 2015 Sunjeev Sahota The Year of the Runaways
- 2014 Neel Mukherjee The Lives of Others
- 2013 Evie Wyld All the Birds, Singing
- 2012 Ned Beauman The Teleportation Accident
- 2011 Joe Dunthorne *Wild Abandon*
- 2010 Adam Foulds The Quickening Maze
- 2009 Julia Leigh *Disquiet*
- 2007 M.J. Hyland Carry Me Down
- 2005 Nadeem Aslam *Maps for Lost Lovers*
- 2004 Michelle de Kretser The Hamilton Case
- 2003 Jeremy Gavron The Book of Israel
- 2002 Ali Smith Hotel World
- 2001 Anne Enright What Are You Like?
- 2000* John Burnside *The Mercy Boys* Claire Messud *The Last Life* Matt Thorne *Eight Minutes Idle* Phil Whitaker *Triangulation*
- 1999 Christina Koning Undiscovered Country
- 1998* Alan Warner *These Demented Lands* Timothy O'Grady *I Could Read the Sky*
- 1997 David Flusfeder Like Plastic
- 1996 A.L. Kennedy So I Am Glad
- 1995 Dermot Healy A Goat's Song
- 1994 Amit Chaudhuri Afternoon Raag
- 1993 Colm Tóibín The Heather Blazing
- 1992 Iain Sinclair Downriver
- 1991 Carey Harrison Richard's Feet
- 1990* Paul Watkins *Calm at Sunset, Calm at Dawn* Peter Benson *A Lesser Dependency*