

REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

BUREAU OF IMMIGRATION

MAGALLANES DRIVE, INTRAMUROS 1002 MANILA

ADVISORY

UPDATED TRAVEL RESTRICTION GUIDELINES OF ALL TRAVELLERS FROM COUNTRIES WITH CONFIRMED CASES OF COVID-19 B117 STRAIN (SARS-COV-2 VARIANT DETECTED IN THE UNITED KINGDOM)

Consistent with the Memorandum from the Executive Secretary dated 31 December 2020 regarding the Additional Measures Relative to the SARS-COV-2 (B117) Variant Detected in the United Kingdom, to wit:

- Inclusion of the United States of the America (US) among the countries subject to travel restrictions
 - A. Foreign passengers coming from the US, or who have been to the US within 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines, shall be prohibited from entering the country effective <u>0001H of 03 January 2021</u>, <u>Manila time</u>, until 15 January 2021;
 - B. Effective immediately, foreign passengers coming from the US, or who have been to the US within 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines, arriving before 0001H of 03 January 2021, Manila time, shall not be prohibited from entering the Philippines, but shall be required to undergo an absolute facility-based 14-day quarantine period notwithstanding a negative Reverse Transcription Polymerase Chain Reaction (RT-PCR) result; and
 - C. Likewise effective immediately, Filipino citizens coming from the US, or who have been to the US within 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines, including those arriving after 0001H of 03 January 2021, Manila time, shall not be prohibited from entering the country, but shall be required to undergo an absolute facility-based 14-day quarantine period notwithstanding a negative RT-PCR result.
- II. Rules applicable to Filipino and foreign passengers merely transiting through a country covered by the travel restrictions
 - A. All passengers, whether Filipinos or foreigners, merely transiting through any of the countries covered by the Memorandum from the Executive Secretary dated 29 December 2020 and subsequent inclusions thereto ("covered country"), shall not be deemed as having come from or having been to such covered country, provided they stayed in the airport the whole time and were not cleared for entry into the covered country by its immigration authorities;
 - B. Upon arrival in the Philippines, passengers covered by the immediately preceding paragraph need not complete a full 14-day facility-based quarantine, and may be allowed home quarantine upon testing negative on RT-PCR at point of entry, pursuant to existing protocols of the national government;
 - C. Transiting foreign passengers who left the airport or were cleared for entry into the covered country by its immigration authorities shall be prohibited from entering the Philippines;
 - D. Transiting Filipino citizens who have left the airport or were cleared for entry into the covered country by its immigration authorities shall not be prohibited from entering the Philippines, but shall be required to undergo an absolute facilitybased 14-day quarantine period notwithstanding a negative RT-PCR result.

IN VIEW HEREOF, the following guidelines are adopted by the Bureau of Immigration:

A. For arriving FILIPINO NATIONALS

They shall be allowed entry but subject to RT-PCR test, quarantine and isolation protocols issued by the Department of Health (DOH).

B. For arriving FOREIGN NATIONALS

 Those coming from or who have been to the 21 travel-restricted countries¹ (i.e. with immigration admission to said countries and not mere lay-over at the airport), within 14 days immediately preceding arrival to the Philippines shall NOT be allowed entry.

The above **prohibition** to enter the Philippines **shall apply to ALL foreigners regardless of their visa category** (including 9E visa) or previously issued endorsement or exemption from the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) / privileges (under RA 6768 - Balikbayan) during the duration of the travel ban.

2. Effective immediately, those who: (a) transited or who have a mere lay-over at the airport of the 21 travel-restricted countries (lay-over only at the airport and with no immigration admission at said countries); and (b) those NOT coming from these countries may be allowed entry, PROVIDED they are authorized to enter the country thru relevant resolutions of the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-MEID) and subjected to RT-PCR test, quarantine and isolation protocols issued by the Department of Health (DOH).

Existing guidelines for arriving crew member/s shall still be observed.

The foregoing is without prejudice to the exercise of the mandate of the Bureau of Immigration in Arrival and Departure Immigration Formalities.

01 January 2021.

SIGNED JAIME H. MORENTE Commissioner

1 The 21 travel-restricted countries:

1	United Kingdom of Great Britain	12	Iceland
2	Denmark	13	Italy
3	Ireland	14	Lebanon
4	Japan	15	Singapore
5	Australia	16	
6	Israel	17	South Korea
7	The Netherlands	18	South Africa
8	Hong Kong, SAR	19	Canada
9	Switzerland	20	Spain
10	France	21	United Stated of America - Effective 0001H 03 January 2021
11	Germany	1.0	