### **National Women Bioscientist Award**

# Awardees for the year 2016

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientist Award**

1. Dr. Chitra Sarkar, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi

## **National Young Women Bioscientist Award**

- 1. Dr. Sharmistha Banerjee, Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
- 2. Dr. Debasree Dutta, Scientist EI, Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology, Thiruvananthapuram

# Awardees for the year 2015

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientist Award**

1. Dr. Rentala Madhubala, Professor, School of Life Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi

## **National Young Women Bioscientist Award**

- 1. Dr. Ashverya Laxmi, Staff Scientist IV, National Institute of Plant Genome Research, New Delhi.
- 2. Dr. Kakoli Bose, Scientific Officer-F, ACTREC, Tata memorial Centre, Navi Mumbai.

# Awardees for the year 2014

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientist Award**

1. Dr. Nahid Ali, Chief Scientist, Infectious Diseases and Immunology Divisions, Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata

# National Young Women Bioscientist Award

- 1. Dr. Chaaya Iyengar, Assistant professor, Department of Biotechnology, National Institute of Pharmaceutical Research and Education (NIPER), Punjab, Mohali
- 2. Dr. Rupinder Kaur, Staff Scientist-V, Centre for DNA Fingerprinting and Diagnostics, Nampally, Hyderabad

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientist Award**

1. Dr. Somdatta Sinha, Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, IISER Mohali, Knowledge City, Mohali, Punjab

# **National Young Women Bioscientist Award**

- 1. Dr. Annapoorni Rangarajan, Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Reproduction Development &Genetics, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore-
- 2. Dr. Mamta Chawla-Sarkar, Scientist-'D', National Institute of Cholera and Enteric Diseases, Beliaghata, Kolkata

# Awardees for the year 2012

# National Senior Woman Bioscientist Award NIL

## **National Young Woman Bioscientist Award**

- 1. Dr. Saman Habib,, Principal Scientist & Head, Division of Molecular & Structural Biology, CSIR-Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow
- 2. Dr. Nandini Chatterjee Singh, Additional Professor, National Brain Research Centre, Manesar.

# Awardees for the year 2011

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientist Award**

**1. Dr. Chitra Mandal**, Scientist H, Group IV (7), Head, Cancer and Cell Biology, CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata

# National Young Woman Bioscientist Award

- (i) **Dr. Maneesha S. Inamdar,** Associate Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur Bangalore
- (ii) **Dr. Sanghamitra Bandyopadhyay**, Professor, Machine Intelligence Unit, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata

- (iii) **Prof. Rinti Banerjee,** Professor, Department of Biosciences & Bioengineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Powai, Mumbai
- (iv) **Dr. B.S. Lakshmi,** Assistant Professor (Sr Grade), Centre for Biotechnology, Anna University, Chennai

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award**

1. Dr. Madhuri Behari, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Ansari Nagar, New Delhi.

## **National Young Woman Bioscientists Award**

- 1. Dr. Premila Abraham, Department of Biochemistry, Christian Medical College, Bagayam, Vellore, Tamil Nadu
- 2. Dr. Sneha Sudha Komath, School of Life Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi

## Awardees for the year 2009

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award**

1. Prof. Suniti Solomon, Director, MD,FMAMS, DMS(Brown University), Director, YRG Centre for AIDS Research and Education, Voluntary Health Services, Rajiv Gandhi Salai, Taramani, Chennai.

# National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. (Mrs.) Rita Singh, Scientist 'E', Defence Laboratory, Defense Research & Development Organization, Jodhpur
- 2. Dr. Suparna Mukherji, Professor, Centre for Environmental Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay.

# Awardees for the year 2008

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award**

1. Prof. Vijaylakshmi Ravindranath, Director, National Brain Research Centre, Manesar.

# National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Sharmila Avadhut Bapat, NCCS, Pune.
- 2. Dr. Subha Tole, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.

# **National Young Woman Bioscientists Award**

- 1. Dr. Mitali Mukerji, IGIB, New Delhi
- 2. Dr. Sangita Mukhopadhyay, CDFD, Hyderabad
- 3. Dr. Sujata Sharma, AIIMS, New Delhi

## Awardees for the year 2006

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award**

1. Dr. (Mrs.) Manju Sharma, Former Secretary, DBT

# **National Young Woman Bioscientists Award**

- 1. Dr. Ramanathan Sowdhamini, NCBS, Bangalore
- 2. Dr. Gagandeep Kang, CMC, Vellore

# Awardees for the year 2005

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award**

1. Dr. Radha Rama Devi, CDFD, Hyderabad

# National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Suparna Sengupta, RGCB, Thiruvananthapuram
- 2. Dr. Kusum Arunachalam, NERIST, Nirjuli

# **Awardees for the year 2004**

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award**

1. Dr. Veronica Rodrigues, TIFR, Mumbai

## **National Young Woman Bioscientists Award**

- 1. Dr. T. Das, Bose Institute, Kolkata
- 2. Dr. Ruby John Anto, RGCB, Thiruvananthapuram

# Special Award for a Woman Scientist for Awareness Generation in Biotechnology

1. Dr. Deepti Dileep Deobagkar, Bioinformatics Centre, University of Pune

## Awardees for the year 2003

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award**

1. Prof. M. S. Shaila, IISc, Bangalore

## Special Award for 'Year of water'

As the year 2003 is the 'Year of water', the Department has awarded a special award to Dr. Indrani Karunasagar, College of Fisheries, University of Agricultural Sciences, Mangalore under the Senior category, for her outstanding work.

# National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Anita Pandey, GBPHIED, Almora
- 2. Dr. Rukhsana Chowdhury, IICB, Kolkatta

# Awardees for the year 2002

# **National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award**

1. Dr. Dipika Mohanty, Institute of Immunohaematology, Mumbai & Prof. Sipra Guha Mukherjee, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi (Joint Award)

# National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Subhra Chakraborty, National Center for Plant Genome Research, New Delhi
- 2. Dr. S.Nagini, Annamalai University, Annamalai Nagar, Tamil Nadu

# Special Award for 50th Anniversary of DNA double helix discovery

As the year 2003 is the 50th anniversary of the DNA double helix discovery, the Department has awarded a special award to Dr. Chandrima Saha, NII, New Delhi.

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award**

- 1. Prof. Kasturi Datta, JNU, New Delhi
- 2. Prof. G. Lakshmi Sita, IISc, Bangalore

## **National Young Woman Bioscientists Award**

- 1. Dr. Anuradha Lohia, Bose Institute, Kolkata
- 2. Dr. (Mrs. ) Suchitra Banerjee, CIMAP, Lucknow
- 3. Dr. (Mrs. ) Sudha Nair, M.S. Swaminathan Res. Foundation, Chennai

# **Awardees for the year 2000**

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award**

1. Prof. Mehtab S.Bamji, Dangoria Charitable Trust, Hyderabad

# **National Young Woman Bioscientists Award**

- 1. Dr. Sunita Grover, NDRI, Karnal
- 2. Dr. M. Lakshmi, MSSRF, Chennai

# Awardees for the year 1999

#### **National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award**

1. Dr. Asha Mathur, KGMC, Lucknow

# National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Malathi Lakshmikumaran, TERI, New Delhi
- 2. Dr. Jaya Tyagi, AIIMS, New Delhi