Mathematics People

Slade Receives CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize

GORDON SLADE of the University of British Columbia has been awarded the 2010 CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize. The prize, awarded annually by the Centre de Recherches Mathématiques (CRM), the Fields Institute, and the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS), recognizes exceptional contributions by a mathematician working in Canada. The prize carries a cash award of CA\$10,000 (approximately US\$9,500) and an invitation to give a lecture at each institute.

According to the prize citation, Slade was honored for "his outstanding work in rigorous statistical mechanics and probability. He is renowned for developing a technique known as the lace expansion into a systematic calculus, which he has applied to diverse and famous problems, including self-avoiding walk, percolation, branched polymers, random graphs, and numerical techniques for the exact enumeration of self-avoiding walks. His results address some of the most difficult problems in central areas of probability and statistical physics. These are questions motivated by physical problems which are easy to state (what is the average length of an *n*-step self-avoiding walk?) but notoriously difficult to solve."

Slade received his undergraduate degree from the University of Toronto in 1977 and his Ph.D. from the University of British Columbia in 1984. He has been a leader in Canadian mathematics. He was an organizer of the 1998-1999 thematic year in probability and its applications at the Fields Institute and coorganizer of the recent CRM-PIMS Program Challenges and Perspectives in Probability (2008-2009). He has served on scientific panels of the Fields Institute and PIMS and is currently a member of the editorial board of the *Canadian Journal of Mathematics*. He was invited to the 1994 International Congress of Mathematicians and gave an invited lecture in 2004 at the St. Flour Summer School.

The CRM and the Fields Institute established the CRM-Fields prize in 1994 to recognize exceptional research in the mathematical sciences. In 2005, PIMS became an equal partner, and the name was changed to the CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize. Previous recipients of the prize are H. S. M. (Donald) Coxeter, George A. Elliott, James Arthur, Robert V. Moody, Stephen A. Cook, Israel Michael Sigal, William T. Tutte, John B. Friedlander, John McKay, Edwin Perkins, Donald A. Dawson, David Boyd, Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann, Joel S. Feldman, Allan Borodin, and Martin Barlow.

—From a Fields Institute announcement

PECASE Awards Announced

Four mathematical scientists are among more than one hundred young researchers to receive 2009 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). SCOTT SHEFFIELD of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology was nominated by the Division of Mathematical Sciences (DMS) of the National Science Foundation (NSF). JUSTIN K. ROMBERG of the Georgia Institute of Technology, JOEL A. TROPP of the California Institute of Technology, and PATRICK J. WOLFE of Harvard University were nominated by the Department of Defense (DOD).

The recipients were selected from nominations made by nine participating federal agencies. Each awardee receives a five-year grant to further his or her research and educational efforts.

—Elaine Kehoe

Packard Fellowships Awarded

Three researchers whose work involves the mathematical sciences have been awarded Fellowships for Science and Engineering from the David and Lucile Packard Foundation for 2009. SETH SULLIVANT of North Carolina State University will use the fellowship "to introduce tools from

algebraic geometry, combinatorics, and symbolic computation to address fundamentally discrete problems in evolutionary biology, causal inference, and disclosure limitation." JOSHUA PLOTKIN of the University of Pennsylvania works in evolutionary biology and will use the fellowship "to develop realistic mathematical models and to use them to quantify the forces that shape genetic variation in nature." JUSTIN ROMBERG of the Georgia Institute of Technology works in electrical and computer engineering and will use the fellowship award "to develop theory, algorithms, and hardware for next-generation acquisition systems by exploiting underlying signal structures."

The Packard Fellowships are awarded to researchers in mathematics, natural sciences, computer science, and engineering who are in the first three years of a faculty appointment.

-From a Packard Foundation announcement

Lupercio Awarded ICTP/IMU Ramanujan Prize

ERNESTO LUPERCIO, a researcher at the Center for Research and Advanced Studies of the National Polytechnic Institute (CINVESTAV) in Mexico, has been awarded the 2009 ICTP/ IMU Ramanujan Prize "for his outstanding contributions to algebraic topology, geometry and mathematical physics." According to the prize citation, "he is an expert in the theory of orbifolds (spaces with singularities arising from finite symmetric groups). He has fundamental results on K-theory, gerbes, and Chas-Sullivan type string topology operations." He was also honored for his contributions to mathematics in Mexico "through his energy, enthusiasm, and collaborations with young researchers."

The prize is awarded annually by the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), and the prizewinner is selected by ICTP through a committee of five eminent mathematicians appointed in conjunction with the International Mathematical Union (IMU). The prize recognizes a researcher from a developing country who is less than forty-five years of age on December 31 of the year of the award and who has conducted outstanding research in a developing country. Funding for the US\$10,000 cash award is provided by the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund through the participation of the International Mathematical Union.

-From an ICTP announcement

AAAS Fellows Elected

Nine mathematicians have been elected as new fellows to the Section on Mathematics of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). In addition, one researcher whose work involves the mathematical sciences has been elected to the Section on Information, Computing, and Communication. The new fellows in the Section on Mathematics are: BJORN BIRNIR, University of California, Santa Barbara; SYLVIA TRIMBLE BOZEMAN, Spelman College; ALFRED HALES, Institute for Defense Analyses; SUZANNE LENHART, University of Tennessee, Knoxville; JEFFERY D. MCNEAL, Ohio State University; ROBERT E. MEGGINSON, University of Michigan; JUAN C. MEZA, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; PHILIPPE TONDEUR, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; and ALAN TUCKER, State University of New York, Stony Brook. Elected to the Section on Information, Computing, and Communication was NARSINGH DEO, University of Central Florida.

-From an AAAS announcement

