

## **Southland District Council**

### **2022 Triennial Elections**

### **DECLARATION OF RESULT**

The final result for the Southland District Council elections held on Saturday 8th October is as follows.

Mayor		Votes Received
SCOTT, Rob		2,485
YOUNG, Geoffrey TONG, Gary PICKETT, Kirsty BYARS, Don BAKER, Wendy Joy INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS	We're better together Independent	2,446 2,440 1,713 668 211 20 109
Rob SCOTT is declared elected.		
Mararoa Waimea Ward (3 vacanci	es)	Votes Received
* SCOTT, Rob (Withdrawn) GREANEY, Sarah WILSON, Matt O'BRIEN, Tom	Independent	2,073 1,921 885 616
CHERNISHOV, Stevey		292
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		0 167

(\* Withdrawn as elected as Mayor)

#### Sarah GREANEY, Tom O'BRIEN and Matt WILSON are declared elected.

Waiau Aparima Ward (3 vacancies)		Votes Received
CHAMBERLAIN, Derek John		1,341
BOPARAI, Jaspreet		864
BYARS, Don		859
WEUSTEN, Michael John	Independent	765
MCCALL, Robin	Independent	757
HOLIDAY, Troy	Independent	527

MARNANE, Gemma LAWRENCE, Gene WALKER, Tammy	Independent	371 169 161
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		6 136

#### Jaspreet BOPARAI, Don BYARS and Derek John CHAMBERLAIN are declared elected.

Oreti Ward (3 vacancies)		Votes Received
RUDDENKLAU, Margie MENZIES, Christine FRAZER, Darren		1,835 1,686 1,610
ALLAN, Katie BAKER, Wendy Joy	Independent Independent	1,164 287
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		4 74

#### Darren FRAZER, Christine MENZIES and Margie RUDDENKLAU are declared elected.

Stewart Island/Rakiura Ward (1 vacancy)		Votes Received
SPRAGGON, Jon		109
JOY, Aaron HERZHOFF, Ulrike	Independent	61 53
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		0 3

#### Jon SPRAGGON is declared elected.

Wallace Takitimu Community Board (6 vacancies)		Votes Received
PHILPOTT, Tony MABONGA, Edwin	Independent	666 636
LAWRY, Colin		566
MASON, Bridget WILSON, Lester		477 393
WILSON, Gretchen		393
MARNANE, Gemma		214
BLACKBURN, Eddie		200
INFORMAL		0
BLANK VOTING PAPERS		27

Colin LAWRY, Edwin MABONGA, Bridget MASON, Tony PHILPOTT, Gretchen WILSON and Lester WILSON are declared elected.

LINSCOTT, Neil		665
WELCH, Eve		525
WEUSTEN, Michael John	Independent	518
BUCHANAN, Alby		497
HOLIDAY, Troy		462
GOULD, Emma Faye		363
RIDDELL, Josh		247
MANE-CHAPMAN, Raukura		208
WALKER, Tammy		188
INFORMAL		1
BLANK VOTING PAPERS		51

# Alby BUCHANAN, Emma Faye GOULD, Troy HOLIDAY, Neil LINSCOTT, Eve WELCH and Michael John WEUSTEN are declared elected.

Waihopai Toetoe Community Board (7 vacancies)	Votes Received
MCINTYRE, John	966
YORKE, Pamela	966
BUTTERS, Emily	923
STEVENSON, George	835
FODIE, Denise	826
STRAITH, Andrea	804
MCCABE, Fiona	676
STANLEY, Annabelle	595
SHEPHERD, Melanie	555
LEITH, Judy	506
SLOANE, Pat	320
KNOTT, Donna	158
INFORMAL	5
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	78

# Emily BUTTERS, Denise FODIE, Fiona MCCABE, John MCINTYRE, George STEVENSON, Andrea STRAITH and Pamela YORKE are declared elected.

Fiordland Community Board (6 vacancies)	Votes Received
* GREANEY, Sarah (Withdrawn)	1,091
HOLMES, Diane	1,002
ROBERTSON, Nick	860
BURGESS, Julie	756
HUNTER, Marilyn	677
NORRIS, Kate	644
THOMAS, Luke	626
MCFARLANE, Don	615
DRYSDALE, Dianne (Curlz)	609
BRUCE, John	521
TODD, Alan	427
INFORMAL	0

#### **BLANK VOTING PAPERS**

(\*Section 88A of the Local Electoral Act provides that if a person is declared to be elected as a member of the council, and that person is also declared to be elected as a member of a community board, that person must be treated as having vacated office as a member of the community board.)

## Julie BURGESS, Diane HOLMES, Marilyn HUNTER, Kate NORRIS, Nick ROBERTSON and Luke THOMAS are declared elected.

Tuatapere Te Waewae Community Board (6 vacancies)	Votes Received
DE VRIES, Blayne	427
HORRELL, Anne Cherrie	393
MCKENZIE, Paula	270
EDGERTON, Wayne	265
SANFORD, Jo	241
PARRIS, Marilyn	238
MCCRACKEN, Coke	230
PAHL, Nathalie	219
* BOPARAI, Jaspreet (Withdrawn)	198
REILLY, Alan	137
GARTHWAITE, James	136
STEELE, Glenys Mary	105
CARR, Heather Margaret	100
BOGERS, Chris	82
BACKHOUSE, Ian	35
INFORMAL	0
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	8

(\*Section 88A of the Local Electoral Act provides that if a person is declared to be elected as a member of the council, and that person is also declared to be elected as a member of a community board, that person must be treated as having vacated office as a member of the community board.)

## Blayne DE VRIES, Wayne EDGERTON, Anne Cherrie HORRELL, Paula MCKENZIE, Marilyn PARRIS and Jo SANFORD are declared elected.

Hokonui Community Subdivision (1 vacancy)	Votes Received
SMITH, Colin	181
CHRYSTALL, Janine	112
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS	0 18

#### Colin SMITH is declared elected.

Midlands Community Subdivision (4 vacancies)		Votes Received
HERUD, Chris	Independent	1,069
ALLAN, Katie DOBSON, Philip	Independent	1,041 949
DIACK, Dave	Independent	695
HAWKINS, Hannah	Independent	686

Independent

INFORMAL		
BLANK VOTING PAPERS		

#### Katie ALLAN, Dave DIACK, Philip DOBSON and Chris HERUD are declared elected.

The voter return was 47.62%, being 10,017 votes, excluding special votes.

#### Elections were not required for the following positions.

#### Waihopai Toetoe Ward (2 vacancies)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Paul DUFFY and Julie KEAST are declared elected.

#### Stewart Island-Rakiura Community Board (6 vacancies)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Aaron CONNER, Rakiura HERZHOFF, Aaron JOY, Daniel MEADS and Jon SPRAGGON are declared elected. A by-election to fill the remaining vacancy will be held after the triennial elections have been finalised.

#### Ardlussa Community Board (6 vacancies)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Richard CLARKSON, Ray DICKSON, Chris DILLON, Clarke HORRELL and Hilary KELSO are declared elected. A by-election to fill the remaining vacancy will be held after the triennial elections have been finalised.

#### Northern Community Board – Parawa-Fairlight Subdivision (1 vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Pam NAYLOR is declared elected.

#### Northern Community Board – West Dome Subdivision (2 vacancies)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Lance HELLEWELL and Sonya TAYLOR are declared elected.

#### Northern Community Board – Mid Dome Subdivision (3 vacancies)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Carolyn SMITH and Gregory TITHER are declared elected.

A by-election to fill the remaining vacancy will be held after the triennial elections have been finalised.

#### Oreti Community Board – Makarewa Subdivision (2 vacancies)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Tracy KENNEDY and Karen MAW are declared elected.

Anthony Morton Electoral Officer Southland District Council 13 October 2022 0 79