

# Matamata-Piako District Council

## **2022 Triennial Elections**

## **DECLARATION OF RESULT**

The final result for the Matamata-Piako District Council elections held on Saturday 8th October is as follows.

Mayor	Votes Received
WILCOCK, Adrienne	4,244
HUSBAND, Stu	4,096
SMITH, Russell	1,709
INFORMAL	11
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	192

### Adrienne WILCOCK is declared elected.

Morrinsville Ward (4 vacancies)		Votes Received
THOMAS, James DEWHURST, Bruce HORNE, Dayne DEAN, Sharon		2,424 2,079 1,888 1,333
OSBORNE, Zarsha AITCHISON, Mac HAURAKI, Ian Stuart SAWYER, Cameron	Independent	1,173 1,105 886 857
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		0 62

## Sharon DEAN, Bruce DEWHURST, Dayne HORNE and James THOMAS are declared elected.

Te Aroha Ward (3 vacancies)		Votes Received
JAGER, Peter BOURNE, Sarah-Jane SMITH, Russell		1,444 1,346 1,241
TAYLOR, Jill SMYTH, Brett	Independent	716 712
DONALDSON, Bruce	Independent	519
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		2 70

Sarah-Jane BOURNE, Peter JAGER and Russell SMITH are declared elected.

#### Matamata Ward (4 vacancies)

* WILCOCK, Adrienne (Withdrawn)	2,996
SAINSBURY, James	2,926
WHITING, Sue	2,780
TAPPIN, Kevin	2,759
ANSELL, Caleb J.	1,201
COPE, Stephen	797
INFORMAL	4
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	67

(\* Withdrawn as elected as Mayor)

### Caleb J. ANSELL, James SAINSBURY, Kevin TAPPIN and Sue WHITING are declared elected.

The voter return was 40.93%, being 10,173 votes, excluding special votes.

Elections were not required for the following positions.

#### Te Toa Horopū ā Matamata-Piako Ward (1 vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Gary THOMPSON is declared elected.

Warwick Lampp Electoral Officer Matamata-Piako District Council 13 October 2022